Journals.

Ok – so we all know I’m pregnant.

Except we don’t. Kyle knows. My sister knows. My friends Elizabeth and Vicki know. And Duncan and Leah know. This is my third full day of being “officially pregnant,” so obviously – there’s not a lot of sharing going on. It’s February 19.

I’m not one to wait forever, but I would like to make it through the week without telling our parents. Kyle actually wanted to wait longer, but I told him I wouldn’t make it past the weekend without telling my parents, so he said he’d do the same. But here’s what I’m going to do for the rest of you… and me. I’m gonna keep a journal. I know how much you love my puke stories, and I don’t plan on telling you until my birthday (10 weeks), so you’ll be missing out on some good stuff… I’m assuming.

So here’s where we sit:

It’s February 19 – I don’t have a lot of symptoms. I didn’t get the big ones til 6 weeks with Leah, so I’m expecting the same time frame. Since I know what is probably coming my way, I making sure to eat healthy while I still can eat, and try to stay on top of cleaning and laundry before the days when I can’t get off the couch. Yikes – how do you do that with a toddler?! Emotionally, I’m already nervous. I try not to think about the bad stuff, but it’s still so early, it’s hard not to worry about everything. I did it with Leah, too. I just love my kids so much, I want them to be okay in there! I think it’s a boy. I know, I know, I thought Leah was a boy… but I have different, rather embarrassing reasons for this one. I’ll fill you in of why I think that if I am indeed correct. If not, I’ll save my self the embarrassment. Kyle rolls his eyes when I tell him it’s a boy. Ha. He says he’s calling it a girl til he learns otherwise. Today I’m crampy, and have heartburn. I also feel like I’m breathing for a whole litter of children. All three things were first signs with Leah as well. I’m craving fruit… and pie. I am starving this time around! I don’t remember being constantly hungry with Leah. I had days, sure, but not 24/7 like this. I am on my same mission to gain under 30lbs, so I’ve got to keep myself in check. With Leah I gained 29, so I know I can do it. If I must eat all day, it’s going to be healthy things… at least until I can only eat saltines.

We have named this little baby… Nathan Henry (Nate the Great), or Quinn Charlotte (Chuck -Charlotte=Charlie=chuck). Yes, I will absolutely call my baby girl chuck.

2/25/12 – Well, it’s been a week – and I’m still pregnant! Yay! Man, early pregnancy is hard. Things seem to move at a snails pace, and I sit and worry about everything. I just want the little guy, or girl, to be okay in there and to be growing like he should! Leah and Duncan help distract me, thank goodness. Last week was filled with sharing our news with family. How fun. The name of the game was non-chalant. We just slipped it into normal conversations and dinner time prayers and see if anyone could catch on – they all did. So fun. I made my doctors appointment today, and I’ll go next week. Can’t wait – here we go with getting personal with my doctor all over again. This time, I’ll be toting Leah along, should be a good time. The baby is the size of a sesame seed now, we’re moving up in the seed world. I just finished a plate of carrots – I don’t even like carrots, but I am freaking.starving. and I want to try and eat healthy if I must eat constantly. I must say, those were the best carrots I’ve ever had. And I’m already starving again. Sometimes (a lot of times) I think it’s twins. I mean, how am I this hungry so early?! I still get cramps, and heartburn sometimes, but not as much as last week. I’ve had waves of nausea, but nothing too bad yet. I’m already waking up to pee once a night, what the heck. I’m trying to figured out when to tell facebook and the blog the big news – I did it early with Leah, and while I’d like to wait this time – I don’t think I can. We shall see.

2-26-13: Can’t.stop.eating. I’m now looking forward to my carrots. That’s how bad it’s gotten. I think I’m pregnant with octuplets. My sleep is deteriorating. I’m happy though, because I’m pregnant again. And that is a blessing. I’m having a hard time blogging because I just want to tell you all so bad! Everything else just seems less important. We’re also buying a van this weekend – I’d love to tell you that, too, but I think it will give it away.

3-1-13: The little guy’s heart started to beat this week. Yay! I hope it’s beating away, and can’t wait to hear it!! The beginnings of his brain, ears, and spinal cord have also started their development. He is the size of a grain of rice – so big. Hopefully this time tomorrow we will be the proud owners of a new Minivan! Holla. My big debate these days is when to tell you all… Do I wait? Do I tell you after the doctor? I guess we shall see. I took the last of my pregnancy tests today (I had a stockpile). Don’t worry, I’m still pregnant. It took 0 seconds to show up and was super dark. I suppose I’m getting more pregnant by the day. My sleep sucks, my hunger has subsided… a little, I can’t remember anything, and I’m very snappy with Kyle. I feel on the verge of tears a lot, but so far no actual crying. Oh, and I’m still waking up every night to pee. Fun times ahead!

3-5-13: 20 months ago today I was sitting in the doctor’s office and she told me to go home,  get my crap, and get back to the hospital to have my baby. Fast forward 20 months and that baby I eventually had and I were both sitting in the same doctor’s office listening to her tell us all about the new baby in my belly. Fun times. I had my first official doctor’s appointment today… she told me I was pregnant. Yes! The first appointment is always pointless, but fun to be there nevertheless. Kind of makes the whole thing official. We scheduled the ultrasound for next Tuesday, and if there is a perfect little beating heart I think we will tell the facebook masses then. We also bought a van over the weekend! So I’ll have to tell you that, too. Man, I have so many secrets. I freaking love my minivan though… as does Leah…and Duncan. You just can’t argue the efficiency. I definitely feel old driving it, however.

3-6-13: Today was kind of the first day I had some “I don’t know if I can swallow this” thoughts… where I chew and chew and chew… and then somehow gag it down. I’m not really sick yet, just kind of queezy sometimes. I wonder if I’ll get sick? I’m sure I will. But, hey, maybe not!

3-11-13: Well, we’ve made it another week! 7 weeks according to my calculations, but I’m counting on the ultrasound tomorrow to give us a better idea. If I am indeed 7 weeks, the little guy in my belly is as big as a blueberry. His hands and feet are forming. His heart is beating strong and steady. He has a tail. He is see through. The beginnings of a nose, eyes, mouth, and even teeth are there… Not more TEETH! As far as me… I’m tired. I have no memory. I detest making chicken for dinner. The extreme hunger has subsided some… and been replaced… with sickness and aversions. Blah. It’s funny though, this time around I seem to have true morning sickness. I’m sick from about 4am-11am every day, then it just kind of goes away. (With maybe a couple random episodes the rest of the day). I keep wondering if it will get worse, or if I will start throwing up, but so far it’s manageable. Some mornings are better than others. My face is breaking out… that didn’t happen with Leah. Cough…it’s a boy…cough. Ha, I definitely think it is. Things are just so different already! It’s crazy. I keep trying to compare to Leah, but there’s just nothing there to compare. Even the sickness is different. Kyle still says girl. We shall see… in June. Tomorrow is the ultrasound. I’m excited, but also nervous. I just want there to be a perfect heartbeat and a perfectly shaped bean so badly! I worried constantly in the beginning with Leah, and I thought I’d be better the second time around… I’m not. I just want healthy babies! If all does go well, though, and we see a perfect little beating heart – I will fill you in on all of our secrets afterwards.

3-12-13: Today was the big day. Meet the baby day. How fun! And meet him (or her) we did. A tiny little grain of rice with a crazy strong heartbeat has officially taken up residence in my belly. Yay! It’s still so early, and I will worry until I hold him in my arms… but thank you, Jesus for a strong baby. Leah went with us – she had to meet her new sibling! And, well, she could have cared less. She had no idea what was going on, but it’s ok. I’m just happy she was there. How fun this journey will be. We are officially 6 weeks and 3 days, so forget that stuff I said about being 7 weeks… and repeat it next week. I never know what I am until they tell me. The baby is ½ of a centimeter! How does a heart even fit in that little space?! What a Creator we have. I plan on telling the world tomorrow. Some wait – I can’t do it. I’m happy now. I want to tell you now. I am not sitting around looking for something bad to happen. I am jumping up and down knowing something crazy is going on inside me – and I have to tell you – now. But feel free to pray for a continually healthy and strong baby Nate or Quinn Proebsting. Here are a couple fun facts I learned tonight– they were able to do an abdominal ultrasound (thank God) and see everything they needed to. That’s really hard to do at 6 weeks I guess. And a normal 6 week old heartbeat is 90-110bpm… our baby’s was 128. We have made another nutcase baby. My favorite kind.

And today, 3-19-13: Today I’m sick. Like officially sick. I slept 0 minutes last night. This has been the hardest day to be a mom of 2 yet. I’ve got the baby on the outside that is playful and crazy and she expects to eat and drink. And then I have the baby on the inside that doesn’t know whether or not he’s hungry or sick or tired or if he has energy. I am sometimes hungry, and all the time sick. The mornings have been really hard – like nothing gets done hard. The afternoons are manageable, so if I have to do something… it gets done then. Then by dinner I’m usually sick again. I go to bed sick and I wake up 3059895793 times sick throughout the night. But hey, I’m not complaining. I love a growing baby in my belly. But it is hard. Things are definitely different this time. With Leah I was puking my guts up, this time (so far) I’m just can’t do anything sick. I kind of wish I would throw up… get some relief. But oh well. It’s definitely interesting playing the comparison game.

And that’s where we sit. Stay tuned for more.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

