Frosted Flakes.

Ahh, Home Improvement – just one of the things I’ve found to occupy my time without facebook. And I’m not talking handy man projects, I’m talking one of the best shows to come out of the 90s. Where it was rare before, it’s now become kind of fun for me to sit down and watch an actual show. I’m not a huge TV person, I rarely get deeply into any shows, but it is fun to relive my childhood with this gem every afternoon. Duncan also got some one on one hose playtime the other day. I had absolutely nothing to do during her nap so I took the mutt outside to live out his most fun dream – killing the hose. He’s such a nut, but he had the time of his life. It was fun for me, too, I must admit. And at the end of it all, I had a tired puppy – the goal of any day around here. And yesterday the truly crazy thing happened – I took a nap! WHAT. You guys, I haven’t napped since… I don’t know, I was in the hospital having just had Leah? It really doesn’t ever, ever happen. I can’t do it. I can’t just shut down in the middle of the day – but yesterday I did – hooray! So what if it was only 30 minutes, it was fun to just rest, something my body is definitely needing these days. We’ll see if I can make it more of a habit. And this hasn’t happened yet, but it will soon – I’ve found a recipe for homemade honey wheat bread – yum, right? I love the smell (and taste) of homemade bread – hurry up cooler weather so I can try it out!

All of the above to say – life outside of facebook is pretty stinking productive. It’s been almost a week already! Ha, I realize I sound like some sort of addict in a 12 step program, and I can assure it was not that bad, but it did suck up a good portion of my time – and most of the past week I have been more refreshed having not had it to look at. I guess I’ll give myself another week without it. 🙂

If I had facebook, though, I probably would have told you that Leah is trying her hardest to do cartwheels now. God love her. She’s got the form down, the actual flipping over is causing her some problems. Good thing it was gymnastics day – lots of extra practice! And it’s a really good thing her dad can do everything athletic, because her mother sure cannot, cartwheels included. I suppose as she grows up they will bond over bay-ball and soccer and gymnastics and she and I will bond over baking goodies and organizing closets. 🙂 I would have told you that when we go grocery shopping now, she can voice what she wants/needs. It’s like an audio list for me, really very helpful. For instance, “daddy’s apples!” “hot dogs, apple juuuuuice, coooookie (said in an insecure whisper as if she’s politely asking). And she can’t say it yet, but she pointed to the peanuts and said, “daddy’s this!” Sure enough, I would have forgotten them, but thanks to her he got some peanuts for the week. I probably would have also told you that I’ve started washing some of Quinn’s things. Just little stuff for now, the clothes will get started in the next week or two I’m sure. This is my favorite part of nesting – when I start to feel like she’s actually coming soon! And I probably would have told you that tonight the Proebsting’s are having Frosted Flakes for dinner! Yum, right? I just can’t do chicken tonight, nor do I care to be creative. Kyle asked that we also include bacon and eggs and toast; so I guess it’s not completely pathetic, right? Or is is more pathetic to try and dress up frosted flakes with bacon and eggs? Either way – we’re eating it and I’m excited.

That’s about all for today – I’ve got a dirrrrty bathroom calling my name.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Frosted Flakes.

  1. Vicki

    I would be more productive if I didn’t take naps.

Leave a Reply

