An Ode to my Husband.

I don’t need to be married to the smartest man in the world to be happy –  it just so happens that I am. I didn’t need him to give every ounce of his energy to furthering his career – it just so happens that he did.

You don’t know what kind of day today is. You just have no idea. Kyle has been studying his behind off for the past seven years. Seven years. You can’t tell me there is a harder job on the planet – don’t try. Doctors and lawyers… psh. You haven’t seen what’s been going on around here for almost a decade!

And today it came to a close. Well, the brutality of the tests came to a close (there’s a few minor details left). This guy I married has been pouring everything he has into this career he chose (that I’m still not even certain what it is) and today he was so richly rewarded with a PASS. He passed his test, you guys! The hardest, most obnoxious test in the world… and he passed! People that want to be actuaries drop like flies through the years – after all, why wouldn’t they? Would you want to crunch numbers by day and study in your spare time for seven years straight?! Most people don’t pass one of these tests – my husband passed seven of them. Most people quit after several attempts – my husband stuck it out until the bitter end.

This is one of those days that I’m just going to sit and glow in the role of the doting wife. I couldn’t be happier for this man. I couldn’t be an ounce more proud. I know how happy he is. I know how relieved he is. But I wish he could feel the giddiness in my heart. I’ve never been more thrilled for someone in my life. (Except maybe when Leah rolled over for the first time). But seriously… OMG, Kyle… you did it! You don’t have to study anymore!

Have you read all of the ridiculous articles going around facebook right now about how wrong it is to get married young? That, basically, you’re an idiot and you’re going to get divorced if you marry young. That you don’t know what life is if you marry young. That you’ll never know who you are if you marry young. I read them and I just don’t get it. I married Kyle at 23. That’s the young they’re all talking about. And actually, I had only been 23 for a month. And today, here is my rebuttal to all of the negativity surrounding getting married young.

This very day is the reason it’s okay to marry young (if you like the person well enough). For the past seven years I have watched Kyle study. I have watched him pour himself into this crazy job he has that I’m positive I will never fully understand. I have hugged him out of celebration for a pass, and hugged him tighter when it didn’t go his way. I have brought him snacks to help him get through the unending hours he locks himself in a quiet room. I have been nervous with him, excited with him, devastated with him, and we have certainly stewed together. I have watched him pace, sit, grasp his head in his hands, and literally beat his head against a wall. I have heard him come to bed way too late and wake up way too early. These past seven years have been a journey, my friends. If I met Kyle after all of this was over, when he is an official FSA – what would that mean to me? Very little. I would appreciate his nice salary and I would realize that he probably had to do some work to get those letters behind his name, but that would probably be the extent of it. Marrying him young put me in the passenger seat of this ride with him. I know what those letters mean now. I understand to the fullest extent what brought him to this glorious day. I don’t take his paycheck, our groceries, or our house for granted – because I know that without his past seven years of studying – none of it would be ours. I didn’t get to just fall into a life that was already set – I got to experience it play out. I got to be a part of every aspect of it. It’s because of him that we have the life that we do. And I couldn’t be happier to have had the experience of growing up with him throughout this process. I’m so glad I married him young. That I got to see all of this unfold (even though it suuuucked most of the time). I’m glad I didn’t waste time figuring out my life – I’m glad I married him and got to gettin’ with our life – studying and all. We didn’t wait around for all the ducks to be in a row – we’re lining them up as we go. And this was quite a duck he just put in place for us. If I didn’t marry him when I did – I wouldn’t have ever felt the amount of pride I do right now.

I’m so glad he asked me to marry him.

I love you, Kyle.

I’m so insanely happy for you. And us. But mainly you.

I will end with the past seven years in pictures:

The beginning. Shortly before all of the studying ruined our fun.

  photo(19)

Smack in the middle. We shared a marital cake. (In true fashion with these tests, Kyle had taken one two days before our wedding).

photo(18)

And seven years later. No more studying, girls! Just playing!

photo(17)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

