Milk with a Foon.

Man, life is just going by. How does that constantly happen?

But life is good. Lots of things are going on around here that are very exciting. For instance, Quinn can now be thrown in her bed awake and will fall asleep within minutes. Hallelujah. This is about the point where I start thinking, “hey, babies aren’t so bad!” Please, no one let me forget the previous three months. Life just runs so much more smoothly when things are predictable. Where before I didn’t know how long a nap would last, I can now count on at least an hour of time to do whatever I need to (for instance, blog). I don’t have to leave Leah and Duncan and a box of Milkbones by themselves for more than 30 seconds to rock a baby to sleep. I get to hear squeals and baby chatter through the monitor. But mainly, my brain gets a second (or an hour) to relax… and that makes all the difference in the world!

We (and by “we” I mean I. Let’s face it, Kyle misses out on all of the fun around here) have also re-sleep-trained Leah. That kid. We all remember how before every nap she likes to change her clothes, dance around, jump on the bed, put tights on her head… and then she would fall asleep. I never cared, because she always fell asleep. Until the day that her crazy shenanigans woke her baby sister. Sleeping babies can be hard to come by, so when you get one asleep and they get woken up… makes for a not happy mama. So I worked with Leah for several days on “stay in your bed,” and after a lot of battles – she is now staying in her bed, and then falling asleep like a normal human. It’s kind of sad though, she didn’t understand why all of a sudden she couldn’t do what she had always done. But the candy I bribe her with fixes that. (I’m not at all above bribing; works wonders). So when she mastered staying in her bed, I decided to throw her another curve ball. Come out of your room on your own. Would you believe this child still waits for me to come and get her when she wakes up from a nap or in the morning?! We cannot get her to open her door for anything! As many times as I run up and down the stairs in a day, it would just be really fun if she would come to me once in a while. So once I enforced, “stay in your bed,” I have also added, “but leave your room.” Ha – how confusing to a poor kid, right? She still won’t come out completely on her own, but when I start to hear her wake up, I got up and crack her door (as a reminder) and then run back downstairs and tell Duncan to, “go get Leah.” He walks up the stairs and a few minutes later they both walk down together. Ha. And then I get out the candy and do a big, “you came out of your room all by yourself AND you stayed in your bed” dance. It’s a regular circus. I know that she’s still concerned she will get in trouble for getting out of her bed to leave her room – so I’m working on trying to fix that. Basically, she gets a lot of candy. 🙂

Did you get the part about me sending Duncan to get her? What a good dog, I love that he has that skill. Reminds me of Lassie and Timmy. I can say where’s Leah or go get Leah and he knows exactly who I’m talking about and what to do. He’s an idiot… but I suppose he’s smart, too. And Leah is his number one girl. Sometimes I wonder if he has room in his heart left for Quinn. The two of them had a regular old love fest yesterday…

photo 3(8)

I was able to sneak one of these without them knowing (if we’re friends on facebook you saw that one). Then he saw me. Love the look on his face, “it’s okay, mom, I’ve got her.” Then she saw me and this happened:

photo 4(4) photo 5(1)

Man she loves her dog. And he loves her.

185084_426360137420625_886885882_n 581585_434264369963535_1195063292_n

But then again, they’ve always had a thing for one another. 🙂

Okay, enough on those two before I cry.

Leah dream came true yesterday. She has wanted to feed her sister since the beginning of time. She asks me all the time if Quinn wants a “foon.” So yesterday I decided to let her feed Quinn some milk. With a foon. (Spoon).

photo 1(7)

She was so happy! She loves helping in any way, and this was a big one for her. She kept saying, “do ya wike it Kin, do ya wike it.” “I fink she does, mommy, I fink she wikes it!” So funny. And so very sweet. She’s such a little mother.

photo 2(8)

Poor Quinn, at the mercy of her sister comin’ at her with a foon.

I think we will try some cereal in a couple weeks, but this will at least get her used to a spoon. And satisfy Leah’s desire to help. And keep everyone occupied for a really long time. Hooray!

Can we talk about Quinn for a minute.

photo 1(8)

This Quinn.

We had to make a trip to Target today (I’m getting much better at leaving with both of them!), so I ran up to get her some clothes to change into. I quickly changed her, and…

photo 2(9)

Are we serious with the growing Quinn?! Nevermind this 9 month outfit on my kid that turned 4 months 6 days ago! GAAAAH. STOP. There are no clothes for this kid! I couldn’t even button the snaps by her diaper.

photo(27)

(The exposed diaper).

But did I change her again for our trip? Heck no. I threw some socks and a blanket on her and prayed she wouldn’t need to come out of her car seat for any reason. Don’t tell on us, please. It’s hard having a gigantic child.

photo 3(9)

See, you can’t tell at all that her clothes don’t fit, can you? Poor kid doesn’t even fit in the car seat. She’s a beast of a baby, you guys. But I love her.

And that’s where I’ll leave you because she’s awake. And ready to eat. Of course.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

