Six Months A Lady.

Look at me blogging almost three days in a row!

It’s been a while, you’ll forgive me, right? Life is kind of happening around here. With Leah going to shool and us getting ready for vacation and me painting rooms just because – I haven’t had a lot of time to talk about the little one! But don’t worry – she is still very much here – and very much growing at the speed of light.

Why must they grow up!?

Am I the only one who thinks that the 6-8 month period of babies is their prime? The sleep is there. The giggles are there. The cute chubby cheeks are there. It’s just all too much for me. They lose the alien like newborn looks and gain some cuuuuute smiles and actions. This is the time that catapults me into baby fever. Where life with Leah is rather difficult these days, life with Quinn is so fun. Just like Leah was as a baby, Quinn is happy as a peach 99% of the time. If she’s ever not happy, a simple game of peek-a-boo always lifts her spirits.

We are in the height of teething – but my game plan this time around is just to ignore it. If that can be done. She chews and drools and whines – but I try to focus on distraction if I can. It seems to be working okay. We’ve still got a lot of teeth to go in this stupid little game, and giving up isn’t allowed, so onward we press.

A six month old Quinn is honestly a little ball of delight. And by little ball, I mean beach ball sized ball of delight. There’s so much of her, and it’s all so squishy!

photo 2(25)

I mean, can we talk about the size of her for a second? I don’t know the actual stats because she’s hasn’t been in for her check-up yet. But I know it’s a lot of height and a lot of weight. She is wearing 12 and 18 month clothes! At this rate, she and Leah will be wearing the same size by her first birthday. I love all of her, though. The rolls on the legs, and the cheeks with the one dimple. Man, I’m glad she’s mine. Her smile absolutely melts my heart.

photo 1(23)

What do you do with a dimple like that?! You kiss it. A lot. That’s what you do! And take lots of pictures of it.    🙂

A six month old Quinn takes two long naps during the day, and sometimes sleeps through the night, sometimes doesn’t. Last night she did, the night before she woke up at 12, the night before that she woke up at 3. It’s all so random! But I don’t care. No matter when she wakes up in the night, however, it’s only once and then she’ll sleep til morning 630-7am. She’s good to me. I remember this time with Leah – I didn’t mind at all getting up with her in the middle of the night, because I’d just nurse her right back to sleep, rock her for as long as I wanted, put her in her bed, and go back to sleep. Easy peasy. And feels so good. I’m trying to soak it up even more with Quinn, because I know how fleeting it is. And how much I’ll miss it.

A six month old Quinn enjoys food. No kidding!

photo 1(25)

She likes a lot of things – except sweet potatoes and apples! What a weirdo. I was stuck in a rut for a while of, “Leah loved sweet potatoes, you should love them, too!” I’ve finally settled down on that and stopped making her eat them, realizing that she’s her own breed. She can not like sweet potatoes and love carrots, and that’s just fine. If Quinn has a worst time of day, it’s definitely during dinner. She yells at me the entire time. I haven’t figured out if it’s because she’s hungry, because she’s full, because she’s bored, or because she’s getting tired – but man it wears me out! I haven’t eaten dinner in peace in a long time! I actually make up for it by waiting to eat lunch until their in their rooms for naps – just so I can sit and eat in peace! It’s my one warm meal a day. 🙂

A six month old Quinn is trying to crawl. A lot.

photo 4(16)

She’s got the strength. And she can get her arms pushed up straight, and her butt stuck up in the air – she’s just got to put it all together and she’ll be off! Kind of a terrifying thought.

photo 3(23)

For now, she likes to try out all kinds of positions to see if they’ll get her moving.

photo 4(15)

Rolling is working out quite well for her right now, though. We’re at the stage of the game where the nice little quilts I set up for her to play on start to look kind of silly – because she’s never on them. Kids gotta move.

photo 3(22)

Maybe she could actually get somewhere if she didn’t have her sister holding her back…

Once she does get moving – she’s headed right for her brother! Man she likes that dog! She loves when we set her in front of him. She giggles and squeals and tugs at anything she can find. I’m sure he loves it, too. 🙂 Except for the time that I set her in front of him and he got up and went in his cage, ha. He is so good to her, though. He lets her do any exploring she wants and has never complained. He also chooses to lay by her a lot of the time.

photo 5(11)

And he always knows where she is.

A six month old Quinn has a favorite TV show. Sid the Science Kid is her best friend.

photo 1(24) photo 2(26)

I get the best smiles when she’s watching him. I guess it’s his big, goofy head that she loves so much. (Go ahead and google him). It’s fun to see her light up when she sees him, though.

photo 1(26)  photo 4(18)

And last, but not least, a six month old Quinn is going on her first vacation soon!

photo 4(17)

Are you as excited as I am to see the belly in a two piece?! And the rolls?! And the beach hats? And her eating fistfuls of sand?! It’s gonna be quite a trip, guys. And considering Leah has been asking when  we’re leaving since last September – it can’t get here soon enough!

That’s all she wrote – I should pack or something.

My six month old little lady lights up my days.

photo 5(10)  photo 2(27)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

