Kids Are Like People.

Is anyone else freaking out at the fact that it’s now June?!

June.

Just let that sink it. We’re on the downhill slope of 2014 already. Was it not just January?!

I think maybe it’s freaking me out so much because I know what’s coming at the end of this year… a little (gigantic) someone is going to turn ONE. Already. Okay, so it’s not tomorrow – but with all the things we seem to have planned leading up to it, I know that this year is just going to keep flying by at the speed of light. And then all the babyness will be gone and we’ll have to make another. Or something.

Calm down, Kyle. I’m kidding. Kinda.

So before that little one turns into a big one… the big one is going to turn into a bigger one.

Oh my gosh (more freaking out) that big one is going to be THREE. What is three, that’s like not even a toddler anymore. Just a regular old kid. In just a month. This is her first birthday that I don’t already have everything I need. Darn you, Quinn, you’re slowin’ me down. Actually, I don’t need too much for this birthday because Leah wanted a gymnastics party – and with a gymnastics party comes invitations (that they mail), decorations, set up, and clean up. Sign.me.up. I will probably get a few decorations, because she also wants a George themed party, so I’ll throw a table cloth on the table or something – but besides that, it should be pretty easy for yours truly. It’ll be a nice change. She is demanding that we make a cake for her, though, so I’ve got that on my agenda.

A three year old Leah is so many things. She is smart and funny. Whiny and emotional. Sweet and independent. Playful and athletic. Curious and talkative. I think it’s just the age where so many things are coming together in their little minds – everything is in overdrive. It’s a lot to handle on a day to day basis, but I suppose in the grand scheme of things – she’s a pretty great three year old. She makes me laugh every day, so many times. She says the funniest stuff without even knowing it. For instance, she came running to me saying, “mommy! Kids are kinda like people!” Like she was just figuring it out. And she was so right, they are kinda like people! I should really keep a notepad with me at all times, writing down the things that fall off of her tongue, but then I would just spend my days writing. There’s just so much.

She is really into the Bible the last few days – a step in the right direction.

photo 3(25)

She loves. Loves. To dance. I don’t know where it came from, but she is a dancing machine! She doesn’t move her legs, though, just the arms is all that’s needed.

photo 1(28)

She loves Duncan so much. She calls them, “best buddies.” Most of the time she’s nice to him, but she’s been known to purposefully get under his skin – which gets her in a lot of trouble. She also loves Quinn. She now knows that she has the power to make Quinn laugh – and takes full advantage. Today alone, it has been constant laughter around here – which is so nice to hear. She is such a good big sister, I have 0 complaints in that department. She also loves friends. She loves to play with other kids, and calls almost everyone her best friend. She loves to be outside. I’m trying to think of something she doesn’t like, and I just can’t do it. She is a pretty happy kid, and gets excited about everything. She’s fun to have around. Most of the time :).

Then there’s the little one who’s trying to get bigger. No, Quinn, no! She turned 7 months old yesterday. Someone pinch me. She is one heck of a baby; what a little delight. She is happy and pudgy and smiley and active – what’s not to love?! A seven month old Quinn has six teeth. Pulls up constantly. Is loud. Sleeps through the night. Loves cold watermelon in her silicone feeder. Loves any food. Is a terrible hair puller. Loves peek-a-boo. Loves music. And loves her Duncan dog.

IMG_2959 IMG_7168

The more active she gets, the more he becomes her personal jungle gym. She loves to watch him run and play, but she really loves to pet him. Whenever she’s particularly fussy, I first apologize to him, then sit her right in front of him and give her some Duncan therapy. She just pets him and tugs at him and buries her head in him… and always comes away in a better mood. And then he gets a bone.

The three of us have quite the bonding experience in the mornings. Little miss, although sleeping through the night, is now waking up consistently at 5:45am. I’m a morning person, so I don’t care so much about the early, but it makes for a long morning of trying to entertain someone with limited abilities. So I decided two weeks ago to start taking both of them on walks – what a good idea! We have about 45 minutes before Kyle has to leave, and it gets all three of us ready to start the day. Now, when Duncan hears Quinn make her first peep in the morning he is at my side of the bed sticking his wet nose in my face because he knows what’s coming. We have made many other dog-walking friends around the neighborhood. It’s such a nice group of people who would rather be sleeping. šŸ™‚

photo 5(12)

It gets my blood pumping, and my mind ready to face any and all three year old dramatics that await me when we get back. I’m hooked.

Today, the two human kids (that are kinda like people) and I headed to the library! I hate (haaaaate) reading, but Leah loves it. And I love reading to her. And I love the memories I have of my mom reading to me. (Where I lost the love, I don’t know). We heard that it was time to sign up for Summer Reading Club, so we took advantage! Even Quinnie got to sign up! Now for every 20 minutes we read to Leah and every 20 minutes we follow an “activity calendar” for Quinn they get to color in a chart. There are prizes along the way, and a grand prize at the end. We also got to be in a raffle for Cardinals tickets – that’ll get us in a library for sure :). The lady actually gave me a reading log, too, and said for adults there are cash prizes along the way. Whaaaat?? I could read a book for some money! We’ll see. For now, I’m excited to really devote some time to reading with Leah and working our way through the baby activity calendar with Quinn. Tomorrow, on Quinn’s chart, we’re supposed to make letters with spaghetti noodles, ha. Leah was so excited to go to the darn library. Like I said, she loves pretty much everything. But man she was excited. She wanted a Winnie the Pooh book, and sure enough, walked up to the librarian and asked if they had a Pooh book. We got several :).

photo 1(27) photo 2(29)

(This is really long, sorry). But last but not least, do you know what these are:

photo(53)

Our Disney tickets! Leave it to Disney to have awesome tickets. We’ve got plane tickets, hotel reservations, dining reservations, and admission tickets – we’re really going!! I am so stinking excited! I love planning it all out in my spare time, it’s going to be quite a trip! I will have to fly by myself with two little girls, because Kyle will be down there for business, but it’s non-stop so surely it can’t be too bad, right? Right?! Oh well, what’s important is that Leah is gonna flip meeting all of these characters she loves so much. And Quinn will turn ONE on this trip – talk about a birthday party! Oh, I can’t wait.

Okay, I’ve gotta stop.

Have a good day.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

