4 Under 4.

God bless these kids of mine.

They’re exhausting, but they’re pretty cute. At least I happen to think so. Lord knows I take enough pictures of them. I think they’ve all realized by now that if I have my phone pointed in their direction, they better be smiling. At least most of the time. I also like the candid shots of them doing what they do, however hilarious or sweet or messy it might be. I really like to look back on the pictures and try really hard to remember that moment in time. Sometimes it comes easy, sometimes I have no idea why I thought I needed a picture of whatever it was, but I never regret having taken it. Because as corny and overused as the saying is, they really do grow so fast.

Today was not a candid day. Today was a, “you do as you’re told, listen to your mother, sit in a line, and smile.” I didn’t want to hear another word about it. This puppy season with Samson is so fleeting, I can already tell. I’ve got Leah on the brink of kidhood, Quinnie entering toddlerhood at an astonishing rate, and Duncan looking more big and mature than I ever wanted him to. They are growing and if I don’t force a picture of it now, I’m going to regret it. These are the days I want to look back on. When they are little and chaotic and fabulous. I love them all so much right now, for all kinds of different reasons.

But the four of them, you know, never make anything easy. They are 4 under 4 afterall. Life is a whirlwind, and nothing ever goes as planned. So we tried and tried and tried again, until I released them all to go about their business. And as they did, I looked back at the faces I caught and laughed.

And laughed.

You’ve got the one where three of them look and smile… but the fourth is MIA.

IMG_4739

You invite the fourth back, and he and the first close their eyes…

IMG_4741

Numbers 1 and 4 look and smile, numbers 2 and 3 refuse…

IMG_4742

Then absolutely nobody cooperates…

IMG_4746

Then number 3 looks drugged…

IMG_4749

Then number 4 looks drugged and number 2 doesn’t look at all…

IMG_4751

Then number 2 tries to bite number 3’s ear off…

IMG_4756

Then number 3 finally gets in the spirit, but nobody joins her…

IMG_4759

Then we get both humans on board, but the animals say no…

IMG_4760

Then the babies decide to behave properly, but the big kids refuse…

IMG_4767

Then, finally, I can see 98% of their faces and we call it a day.

IMG_4744

(Would it have KILLED you to look at the camera, DUNCAN??).

And now we will go about the usual. But I have documented Winter 2015, when Leah was 3 and a half, Samson was 13 weeks, Quinn was 14 months, and Duncan was 2 and a half, so I can rest easy… until I find this blog in a year and freak out at how little they all were, and I’ll make them do it all over again.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

